September 28, 2020

Who Is the NBA’s MVP?

Well the discussions have started across the sports world about the NBA’s MVP. The burning question remains: Will Lebron James threepeat, and defend his MVP status, or will someone else take away the title from him? I can make a case for four players in this year’s race. Those players are; Dwight Howard from the Orlando Magic, Dwayne Wade from the Miami Heat, Derrick Rose from the Chicago Bulls, along with the defending MVP LeBron James, also from the Miami Heat.

It seems like the ingredients to win the MVP race is to have gaudy offensive statistics along with a team who has a very good record, and is in line to potentially win the NBA Finals.

So let’s compare my candidates side-by-side.

Dwight Howard- 23.1 ppg and 14.2 rpg while shooting over 60% from the field.

Dwayne Wade- 25.4 ppg, 6.5 rpg along with 4.4 apg.

LeBron James- 26.3 ppg, 7.4 rpg along with 6.9 apg.

Derrick Rose- 24.9 ppg, 4.2 rpg along with 7.8 apg.

At face value, this looks like LeBron James will threepeat, because of the fact that his stats do seem to better all of the other candidate’s. But this is only half of the equation that I am using for the NBA MVP. We still have the team’s overall record to think about.

Because LeBron James and Dwyane Wade are on the same team, with the same record and it has been verified that LeBron’s stats beat out Dwayne’s, I am taking Dwayne Wade off of the list, taking it down to three candidates remaining. Lets look at these team’s records side by side.

Dwight Howard from the Orlando Magic: Orlando’s record to date: 46-26

LeBron James from the Miami Heat: Miami’s record to date: 49-22

Derrick Rose from the Chicago Bulls: Chicago’s record to date: 51-19

This would eliminate Dwight Howard’s chances to claim the crown of MVP because it seems like MVP’s tend to come from championship caliber teams, and frankly, Orlando is not a championship caliber team at this stage of the NBA season.

So now comes the debate that seems to be running rampant through the sports world today: Who will win the NBA MVP?

Well I think it is more of a question of who SHOULD win the MVP and who WILL win the award.

The sexy pick of this season has been to pick Derrick Rose from the Chicago Bulls. He’s a slashing, scoring, electrifying point guard on the Eastern Conference’s “best team”. The media has already dubbed him the MVP, because he is the pick that people want to see.

No disrespect to Derrick Rose and the season that he had, but he should not win the 2010-2011 NBA MVP. That honor should go to LeBron James for the third straight year. When he won the award the last two seasons, he was on the Cleveland Cavaliers before he notoriously “took his talents to south beach”. He was the team, the franchise and the city, so obviously he is going to put up ridiculous numbers. But this year, he shares the ball with Dwayne Wade and Chris Bosh, and he is still putting up his same out of this world statistics that he did the previous two years.

LeBron James is undoubtedly the most valuable player in this game, he has been since 2006, and I see him to continue to maintain his dominance for the foreseeable future.

LeBron should win the MVP, but D-Rose will.

You heard it here first from The Sports Guru

Source by David Heiling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *